At the beginning of the summer, I did the big chop. The Big Chop is when are satisfied enough in transitioning from relaxed hair to natural hair, that you cut the relaxed part of the hair off.I love being natural. I am one who is obsessed with wigs, but I never neglect my natural hair. I have a set routine on how often I clean, protein treat and hydrate my hair. I am faithful to my hair care regimen. Most importantly I make sure I’m taking my supplements and in taking the proper amount of water daily.

With that being said, I would like to speak on behalf of the women who still wear weaves or wigs but have chosen to go natural. A sew or wearing a wig is SAFER than wearing your own hair out. These styles are known as protective styles. You have to protect your hair from the sun, and dry air. This doesn’t mean that we don’t want to rock our natural hair, it simply means that it is our goal to retain length.

Ciao…

